Fin

This post will be my last as my time in Scotland is coming to an end. I leave for the airport at 5:45am tomorrow morning and will arrive in St. Louis at 10:30pm. Unfortunately I have not blogged for a while so I will just tell about the highlights of this past week.

To begin with, last weekend I went on a trip to the Isle of Skye. This was an amazing time and I got to do so much! We hiked up to the Forgotten Valley and on the way up we had to take off our shoes and cross a stream. It was some of the coldest water I have felt! We also got to drink the water because it is fresh and clean It tasted refreshing and crisp. Then we got to go scallop fishing and I held sea urchins and star fish. I also ate raw scallops (actually really delicious)! We got to keep our haul and I learned how to shuck scallops so that we could cook them (also very good this way). Saturday it rained and we got completely drenched on a walk to a beach that made of broken bits of coral. That was early in the day so we had to do the rest of the day’s activities soaking wet (not so much fun and very cold). Sunday was beautiful again and we got to see a lot of the highlands as well as the Harry Potter bridge! Then it was time to head back to Stirling and get ready for the final week of classes.

The last week of classes went by very fast. I only had one more assignment to turn in and it went very smoothly. I got my grades back for one of my classes and got an A which was nice and my other class will post grades soon. My Psychology teachers surprised us with a tea party on the last day with homemade cupcakes, meringues, strawberries, raspberries, cucumber sandwiches, and of course tea. It was so cute and wonderful!

The other parts of the week were spend running errands and buying some souvenirs. I also got to go on one last day trip to Doune Castle with some friends and it was by far my favorite castle I got to see. Thursday night was the farewell ceilidh (pronounced kay-lee). There was a buffet and traditional Scottish dancing! This event was one of the most fun parts of the trip. I have fallen in love with Scottish dancing and wish there was somewhere around home to go do it because it is so high energy and fun! The last dance we did was called “Strip the Willow” and you link arms and spin around really fast with people all down the line! I’m thinking McK needs to add it into one of their dance classes because it is amazing!

Tonight is my last night in Scotland and I am mostly packed up. I just have a few things to leave behind for some friends who are staying for the second block but then I will be going to bed early to wake up for my early shuttle to the airport. Thank you so much for following me during my trip. I am sad to leave but ready to come home and get started on my senior year at McKendree!

One thought on “Fin

  1. Hi! My name is Margaret and I’m looking into this program for this summer and would love to hear more about your experience, your application process, etc! I can give you my email if you’d like. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

